San Antonio Express-News: UTSA awards $4 million to Alzheimer’s researchers around the world

Original Story: San Antonio Express-News

By: Laura Garcia, Staff writer

A professor at UT Health San Antonio is among four researchers worldwide awarded $500,000 each — part of the University of Texas at San Antonio’s Oskar Fischer Prize — for their work in furthering society’s understanding what causes Alzheimer’s disease.

UTSA on Wednesday announced the results of its Oskar Fischer Prize, an international competition that awards $4 million in prizes to 10 individuals. The competition awarded gold, silver and bronze prizes of $500,000, $400,000 and $300,000, respectively.

San Antonio scientist Bess Frost received one of the $500,000 prizes for her theory on the cause of Alzheimer’s disease.

Frost is the Bartell Zachry Distinguished Professor for Research in Neurodegenerative Disorders at the Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies, the Glenn Biggs Institute for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Disorders, and the Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy at UT Health San Antonio.

Story continues:

Article Categories: Grants, News