Congratulations to Graduate Student Eric Baeuerle for his Research Project Selection

March 25, 2020

Eric Baeuerle is a graduate student in the lab of Nicolas Musi, MD.

Congratulations to Bess Frost, PhD, on her publication in Current Opinion in Neurobiology!

February 21, 2020

Awakening the dark side: retrotransposon activation in neurodegenerative disorders. Elizabeth Ochoa Thomas, Gabbe Zuniga, Wenyan Sun, Bess Frost. Current Opinion in Neurobiology. 2020 Apr;61:65-72. doi: 10.1016/j.conb.2020.01.012. Epub 2020 Feb 21. Abstract: Nearly half (45%) of the human genome is composed of transposable elements, or ‘jumping genes’. Since Barbara McClintock’s original discovery of transposable elements in […]

Congratulations to Adam Salmon, PhD for receiving a VA Merit Grant

February 20, 2020

Dr. Salmon received a VA Merit Grant entitled “mTOR-Mediated Desaturation of Fatty Acids in Hepatic Insulin Resistance.”

Congratulations to Angela Olson Dorigatti for her outstanding scientific poster presentation award

February 10, 2020

Angela Olson Dorigatti, a graduate student in the lab of Veronica Galvan, PhD, attended the Texas Alzheimer’s Research and Care Consortium (TARCC) on Thursday, January 30. Her poster, entitled, “Tau-induced astrocyte senescence: A novel mechanism for neuronal dysfunction in Alzheimer’s disease” won an award for outstanding scientific poster presentation. This is her 8th conference award […]

Congratulations to Veronica Galvan, PhD for receiving a VA Merit Review Award

February 7, 2020

Dr. Galvan received a VA Merit Review Award, title: Pathogenic Tau Promotes Brain Vascular Dysfunction in Alzheimer’s Disease – $1,100,000

Dr. Bess Frost receives TAMEST O’Donnell Award in Medicine

January 17, 2020

Bess Frost, PhD, assistant professor of cell systems and anatomy and member of the Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies at UT Health San Antonio, is the recipient of the Academy of Medicine Engineering and Science of Texas 2020 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Medicine. Dr. Frost receives TAMEST O’Donnell […]

Congratulations to Dr. Jia Nie, she is a 2019 AFAR Grantee

January 17, 2020

Congratulations to Jia Nie, PhD on winning The Irene Diamond Fund/AFAR Postdoctoral Transition Award in Aging.

Congratulations to Paul Hasty, DVM on his publication in Aging Cell!

January 6, 2020

Acarbose improved survival for Apc+/Min mice Sherry G Dodds, Manish Parihar, Martin Javors, Jia Nie, Nicolas Musi, Zelton Dave Sharp, Paul Hasty Aging Cell. 2020 Feb;19(2):e13088. doi: 10.1111/acel.13088. Epub 2020 Jan 6. Abstract: Acarbose blocks the digestion of complex carbohydrates, and the NIA Intervention Testing Program (ITP) found that it improved survival when fed to […]

Bess Frost, PhD, will be the 2020 recipient of the O’Donnell Award in Medicine

December 6, 2019

Congratulations to Dr. Bess Frost, the 2020 recipient of the O’Donnell Award in Medicine. The annual award is given by the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas, a group of the state’s 300-plus members of the National Academies. Read the story here.

Congratulations to Dr. Kennedy Mdaki for being selected as the recipient of BS Minority Investigator Travel Award

November 18, 2019

The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) selected Dr. Mdaki as the recipient of BS Minority Investigator Travel Award in the amount of $1000.  The award was presented during the annual GSA conference held November 13 – 17, 2019. Kennedy Mdaki, PhD, is a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Adam Salmon, PhD.