Dr. Bess Frost receives TAMEST O’Donnell Award in Medicine

January 17, 2020

Bess Frost, PhD, assistant professor of cell systems and anatomy and member of the Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies at UT Health San Antonio, is the recipient of the Academy of Medicine Engineering and Science of Texas 2020 Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award in Medicine. Dr. Frost receives TAMEST O’Donnell […]

Congratulations to Dr. Jia Nie, she is a 2019 AFAR Grantee

January 17, 2020

Congratulations to Jia Nie, PhD on winning The Irene Diamond Fund/AFAR Postdoctoral Transition Award in Aging.

Congratulations to Paul Hasty, DVM on his publication in Aging Cell!

January 6, 2020

Acarbose improved survival for Apc+/Min mice Sherry G Dodds, Manish Parihar, Martin Javors, Jia Nie, Nicolas Musi, Zelton Dave Sharp, Paul Hasty Aging Cell. 2020 Feb;19(2):e13088. doi: 10.1111/acel.13088. Epub 2020 Jan 6. Abstract: Acarbose blocks the digestion of complex carbohydrates, and the NIA Intervention Testing Program (ITP) found that it improved survival when fed to […]

Bess Frost, PhD, will be the 2020 recipient of the O’Donnell Award in Medicine

December 6, 2019

Congratulations to Dr. Bess Frost, the 2020 recipient of the O’Donnell Award in Medicine. The annual award is given by the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas, a group of the state’s 300-plus members of the National Academies. Read the story here.

Congratulations to Dr. Kennedy Mdaki for being selected as the recipient of BS Minority Investigator Travel Award

November 18, 2019

The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) selected Dr. Mdaki as the recipient of BS Minority Investigator Travel Award in the amount of $1000.  The award was presented during the annual GSA conference held November 13 – 17, 2019. Kennedy Mdaki, PhD, is a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Adam Salmon, PhD.

CPRIT awards $3 million to Emtora Biosciences, formerly called Rapamycin Holdings.

September 3, 2019

Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) announced funding Aug. 22nd for various UT Health SA researchers and affiliates. “CPRIT also awarded $3 million to Emtora Biosciences, formerly called Rapamycin Holdings. The award is for a clinical trial investigating a formulation of rapamycin called eRapa to treat familial adenomatous polyposis. This is an inherited disorder […]

Congratulations to Angela Olson for receiving the Data Blitz first place award

June 7, 2019

Angela Olson, graduate student in the Veronica Galvan, PhD lab, received the Data Blitz 1st Place Winner award at the 2019 American Aging Association Annual Meeting. This is her 5th award/first place recognition this year.

Congratulations to Dr. Mengwei Zang for receiving NIH R01 and R21 Research Grants

June 7, 2019

Mengwei Zang, MD, PhD, has received R01 and R21 research grants from the NIH.

Congratulations to Dr. Masahiro Morita for his publication in PNAS.

May 20, 2019

Hepatic posttranscriptional network comprised of CCR4-NOT deadenylase and FGF21 maintains systemic metabolic homeostasis Morita M, Siddiqui N, Katsumura S, Rouya C, Larsson O, Nagashima T, Hekmatnejad B, Takahashi A, Kiyonari H, Zang M, St-Arnaud R, Oike Y, Giguère V, Topisirovic I, Okada-Hatakeyama M, Yamamoto T, Sonenberg N PNAS. 2019 Apr 16;116(16):7973-7981. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1816023116. Epub 2019 […]

Congratulations to Dr. James Nelson for his publication in Aging Cell

May 17, 2019

Hyperadrenocorticism of calorie restriction contributes to its anti-inflammatory action in mice. Allen BD, Liao CY, Shu J, Muglia LJ, Majzoub JA, Diaz V, Nelson JF Aging Cell. 2019 Jun;18(3):e12944. doi: 10.1111/acel.12944. Epub 2019 Apr 1. Abstract: Calorie restriction (CR), which lengthens lifespan in many species, is associated with moderate hyperadrenocorticism and attenuated inflammation. Given the […]